Dallas — Dallas Mavericks forward Dirk Nowitzki has been selected as the 2014 winner of the Magic Johnson Award, which recognizes excellence on the court with cooperation with the media and fans, the Pro Basketball Writers Association announced today.

Nowitzki, who averaged 21.7 points, 6.2 rebounds and 2.7 assists to lead the Mavericks to a 49-33 record and the No. 8 seed in the Western Conference playoffs, was one of six finalists for the award, joining Miami’s Chris Bosh, Indiana’s Paul George, San Antonio’s Manu Ginobili, Houston’s Dwight Howard and Memphis’ Zach Randolph.

Eddie Sefko, Mavericks’ beat writer from the Dallas Morning News, and Marc Stein, senior NBA writer from ESPN.com, will present the award to Nowitzki at halftime of Game 3 in Dallas.

The PBWA comprises approximately 175 writers and editors who cover the NBA on a regular basis and work for newspapers, Internet services and magazines. For more information on the PBWA, go to http://ProBasketballWriters.org.

2014 Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas
2013 Shane Battier, Miami
2012 Steve Nash, Phoenix
2011 Kevin Durant Oklahoma City
2010 Chris Bosh Toronto
2009 Brandon Roy Portland
2008 Derek Fisher, Los Angeles Lakers
2007 Shane Battier, Houston
2006 Grant Hill, Orlando
2005 Antawn Jamison, Washington
2004 Jermaine O’Neal, Indiana
2003 Jalen Rose, Chicago
2002 Elton Brand, L.A. Clippers
2001 Ray Allen, Milwaukee

Share and comment

More Mavs News