The 2016-17 season came to an end only days ago, but it’s already time to look ahead to 2017-18. That begins with summer hoops.

The NBA has released schedules for both the Orlando and Las Vegas Summer Leagues. As they did last year, the Mavs will send teams to compete in both, and the action kicks off as soon as we flip the calendar to the beginning of the next league year.

The Mavs’ Orlando squad will make its debut on July 1 at 2 p.m. Central against the New York Knicks, and the club will play three more games over the Fourth holiday before wrapping up the league on Championship Day on July 6. (See below for the full schedule.)

Just after that, the Mavs will be heading westward to Las Vegas, where their first-round selection in the June 22 NBA Draft is expected to make his debut in Dallas blue, potentially alongside key pieces of last year’s roster. The squad will be revealed closer to the beginning of the tournament.

Dallas will kick things off on July 8 at 3:30 p.m. Central against the Chicago Bulls, last year’s Vegas champs. Over the next three days the Mavs will play the Miami Heat and Phoenix Suns — who hold the fourth overall pick in the draft — before competing against a Vegas-record 23 other teams in a single-elimination championship tournament beginning July 12.

ESPN will present all 67 games across ESPN, ESPN2, ESPNU, and the ESPN App. NBA TV will also air 28 games. See the Mavs’ Las Vegas schedule below, followed by the Orlando breakdown.

Date Opponent Tipoff (Central) Channel
July 8 Chicago Bulls 3:30 p.m. TXA21, NBA TV
July 9 Phoenix Suns 3:30 p.m. TXA21, ESPN
July 11 Miami Heat 7 p.m. TXA21, NBA TV


In the Las Vegas tournament format, seeds 9-24 will play in eight games on July 12. Starting July 13, seeds 1-8 will play against the winners of the previous day’s games. Each team is guaranteed to play at least five games. The championship game will be played on July 17 at 9 p.m. Central, televised on ESPN.

Here’s the Mavs’ Orlando schedule.

Date Opponent Tipoff (Central)
July 1 New York Knicks 2 p.m. (TXA21)
July 3 Orlando Magic 2 p.m.
July 4 Indiana Pacers 2 p.m.
July 5 Oklahoma City Thunder 12 p.m.


Following the July 5 games, teams will be placed 1-8 based on record. On July 6, seeds 1 and 2 will play for the championship, while seed 3 will play 4, 5 will play 6, and 7 will play 8. The championship game will be played at 1 p.m. Central.

We’ll release the full rosters, as well as broadcast information for the Orlando Summer League, when that information becomes available.

Share and comment

More Mavs News