The NBA and NBPA have announced the rosters for NBA Africa Game 2017, a game to be played on Aug. 5 in Johannesburg, South Africa, and two Mavericks made the cut.

You already know Dirk Nowitzki is in the game, as he was named captain of Team World earlier this summer. The German legend will square off against a current teammate of his, too, as center Salah Mejri will represent Team Africa. Mejri is the first Tunisian-born player in NBA history.

Nowitzki will co-captain his side with the Charlotte Hornets’ Kemba Walker. They will be joined by Leandro Barbosa (most recently with the Phoenix Suns; Brazil), Jaylen Brown (Boston Celtics; US), Wilson Chandler (Nuggets; US), DeMarcus Cousins (New Orleans Pelicans; US), Andre Drummond (Detroit Pistons; US), Courtney Lee (New York Knicks; US), Kyle Lowry (Raptors; US), CJ McCollum (Portland Trail Blazers; US) and Kristaps Porzingis (Knicks; Latvia).

Mejri’s squad will be captained by the Lakers’ Luol Deng and Thabo Sefolosha. Joining the 7-foot-2 center will be Bismack Biyombo (Orlando Magic; Democratic Republic of Congo), Clint Capela (Houston Rockets; Switzerland; parents from Angola and Congo), Gorgui Dieng (Minnesota Timberwolves; Senegal), Joel Embiid (Philadelphia 76ers; Cameroon), Serge Ibaka (Toronto Raptors; Congo), Luc Mbah a Moute (most recently with the LA Clippers; Cameroon), Emmanuel Mudiay (Denver Nuggets; DRC), Victor Oladipo (Indiana Pacers; US.; Nigerian parent) and Dennis Schroder (Atlanta Hawks; Germany; Gambian parent).

Mavs assistant coach Jamahl Mosley, also the Las Vegas summer league team’s head boss, will coach one of the teams.

“Basketball is witnessing explosive growth in Africa,” said NBA commissioner Adam Silver. “Our return to Johannesburg this summer is part of the League’s continued commitment to bring the authentic NBA experience to fans around the world.”

The game will be played in support of UNICEF, the Nelson Mandela Foundation and SOS Children’s Villages South Africa. It’s the second such event in Africa, with the first coming in 2015.

Share and comment

More Mavs News