DALLAS – Dallas Mavericks CEO Cynt Marshall is among the seven new board members chosen to serve with the Texas Women’s Foundation for the next three terms from 2018-21.

The group, formally known as the Dallas Women’s Foundation, is committed to advancing economic security and leadership opportunities for women and girls.

 “We are thrilled to have these talented women join our board, which is one of the most diverse and inclusive in the region,” said Roslyn Dawson Thompson, Texas Women’s Foundation president and chief executive officer. “These new members, along with our executive committee and other board members, bring their expertise, passion for our mission and networks of influence to support our work throughout North Texas and the state.”

Last month, Marshall joined USA Women’s Soccer star Alex Morgan and other notable women across the professional sports world on Adweek’s “30 Most Powerful Women in Sports” list. She was also selected as the recipient of Genesis Women’s Shelter’s 2019 Jane Doe Award, which recognized her “extraordinary commitment to standing alongside women and their children throughout their journey to an abuse-free life.”

In 2018, Dallas Women’s Foundation became Texas Women’s Foundation. This transformation honors the “history and growth over 33 years as the trusted leader in advocating for and advancing social and economic change for women and girls in Texas.”

The organization notes that becoming statewide “better reflects our position as one of the largest women’s foundations in the world – in assets, impact, diversity and size – and our leadership in promoting equity and supporting solutions empowering women and families to make a better world.”

Texas Women’s Foundation named A. Shonn Brown as its chair, serving from 2019-2021. Brown, vice president and deputy general counsel at Kimberly-Clark, has served on the Foundation board since 2015, co-chaired the Annual Luncheon in 2017 and helped establish The Village Giving Circle at Texas Women’s Foundation.

The six other board members joining Marshall for three-year terms are:

  • Hattie Hill, President and CEO, Hattie Hill Enterprises, Inc.
  • Sarah K. Miller, President and Chair, Kozmetsky Family Foundation
  • Tricia Miller, Miller Family Foundation
  • Neena Newberry, President, Newberry Executive Solutions
  • Debbie Rollins, Audit Partner, Grant Thornton
  • Lissa Smith, Community Relations Adviser, FedEx Office

Share and comment

More Mavs News