By Cheryl Hall, Dallas Morning News Business Columnist

Her biggest mind-altering move has been to diversify the group that sits at the franchise’s business leadership table.

In February, the Mavericks had no women and only one man of color among the eight people who are vice presidents and above.

Today, the 21-person leadership team includes nine women. A third of those are people of color.

Marshall was struck by the change recently when she was in the same conference room where she was introduced to the team’s top dogs just 10 months ago.

“What I saw in front of me was a very different executive group than the one in February — one that now reflects the demographics of our Dallas, Texas, community and demonstrates our core values,” she says. “We have created an inclusive culture where every voice matters; a speak-up culture where every voice is heard; and a values-based culture where a set of core values drives our decisions and actions. Read the entire story on

Each year, The Dallas Morning News looks back at the previous 12 months to determine the Texan of the Year. Elizabeth Souder and Brendan Miniter of the paper’s editorial board join guest host John McCaa to talk about the finalists, which include Dallas Mavericks CEO Cynt Marshall, the Austin bombing investigators, AT&T CEO Randall Stephenson and this year’s winner, Laura BushClick here to visit KERA and hear the discussion

Share and comment

More Mavs News